Abia born Nigerian Rejects President Tinubu’s Nomination

GodGift Ifunanya
1 Min Read

A nominee member for the Central Bank of Nigeria Board of Directors, Urum Kalu Eke has declined his nomination by President Bola Tinubu.

The Senate announced this on Thursday but went ahead to approve the appointment of four other nominees to the Board of Directors of the CBN, as proposed by President Tinubu.

The confirmed directors are Robert Agbede, Ado Yakubu Wanka, Professor Murtala Sabo Sagagi, and Mrs. Muslimat Olanike Aliyu.

The confirmation followed the consideration of a report on the screening of the nominees presented by the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance & Other Financial Institutions, Senator Adetokunbo Abiru.

- Advertisement -
Ad imageAd image

Aburu explained that the Abia State nominee, Urum Kalu Eke was not cleared by the Committee due to his failure to appear before the Committee for screening.

According to The Vanguard, Senator Abiru stated that Senate received and considered the report on the confirmation of the nomination of the following five persons as members of the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria in accordance with section 6(1), (2) (d), and 10 of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act, 2007.

Share this Article
Leave a comment