Anambra assembly extends tenure of LG transition committee chairmen

GodGift Ifunanya
2 Min Read

The Anambra State House of Assembly on Thursday,  screened, confirmed and extended the tenure of 21 people nominated by Gov. Chukwuma Soludo as chairmen, Local Government Transition Committee.

The Speaker of the house, Dr Somtochukwu Udeze read a letter dated Feb. 2, from Soludo,  requesting for  screening and confirmation of the chairmen.

The tenure of the transitional committee, as approved by the state assembly is three months, after which it could be renewed or fresh appointments made.

Addressing chairmen of the transition committee, Udeze urged them  to be focused and carry out their duties to make meaningful impact on the lives of their people.

- Advertisement -
Ad imageAd image

He also urged them to localise the policies and agenda of Soludo’s administration at their various areas.

“I urge you to initiate programmes that will make meaningful impacts on the lives of the rural populace and shun acts that can cause conflicts,” Udeze said.

Speaking on behalf of the chairmen , Mr Livinus Onyenwe thanked the legislators for confirming their appointment.

Onyenwe promised that they would continue to cooperate, support and replicate  policies and programmes of  the  Soludo administration at the grassroots.

Also at plenary,  the Anambra State Planning and Development Bill, Touting Prohibition Bill, Health Facilities Monitoring and Accreditation Bill and Touting Prohibition Bill, Health Facilities Monitoring and Accreditation Bill and Public Complaints, Financial Crimes and Anti-Corruption Commission Bill were presented and read for the first time.

The house adjourned until Feb. 20 for plenary.

Share this Article
Leave a comment